2019: One Second Every Day

Every day of 2019, I recorded one second of video every day, in hopes of remembering more.

I learned a lot from this activity. Firstly, some days were harder to capture than others. There were times, I felt like nothing “cool” happened and in these moments, I reminded myself that it’s okay if I decided to capture adding two paragraphs to an essay or cooking pasta! Every day is a great day to be alive. Secondly, sometimes it was hard to choose a second of the day! So many “cool” things would happen and choosing the “best” felt like I was doing that day an injustice. In these times, I was reminded that I am not defined by the second of the day I choose. Lastly, my one second every day video revealed what I value most out of my days. Many clips capture moments of laughter, food, nature, painting, Josh, and my friends. I plan to keep filming a second of every day in 2020!

May this new decade brings as many adventures, joys, and growth as 2019 did.

-Heather Mei

Leave a comment