Mulan And Moana Are My Sisters!

I’ve been a fan of the Disney Princesses ever since I was young, I mean who isn’t?! Out of all the princesses though, Mulan is my fave. Mainly because she’s a badass for saving all of China, but also because she’s Chinese, which so am I!! Or at least that’s where I was adopted from…

I think everyone can agree that identity is important. I would also argue that many take it for granted that they can say with confidence where they come from and who their ancestors are. For me however, that’s not the case. Being adopted from China, I have no record of who my biological parents are, which leaves a lot of questions about who I am a mystery.

I wouldn’t say that this unknown in my life has caused major uncertainty, or a massive identity crisis, but it’s definitely piqued my curiosity. I’ve always told people that I am Chinese, and been proud of where I come from and my story. However, with growing up I have also began to wonder if I am more than just Chinese. Because in a sense, the only thing that makes me identify myself as Chinese is the fact that I was adopted from China. With this curiosity, I decided to do AncestryDNA, which is basically where a company sends you empty tubes, asks you to spit into them, and then through science can tell you your biological origins. Perhaps the results would tell me I have some European in me? Or maybe some Black in me?!

I waited for 2 long months and finally got my results back and learned the following:

Screen Shot 2017-08-03 at 7.40.07 PM

Now obviously “East Asia” is still quite a broad term, that includes not only China, but Russia, North and South Korea, Mongolia, Japan, Thailand, Indonesia, and a few others. So while learning that I am 89% East Asian was reassuring that I was Chinese, it also still left me wondering about which of those other countries I could call mine. What I found most insightful though is that I am a little Polynesian! I’ll be honest, I didn’t even know where Polynesia was located on the map. However, after doing some research, I learned that Polynesia is made up of over 1,000 islands just east of Australia and is extremely beautiful. What was even cooler though, was discovering that Moana, the newest Disney princess, is Polynesian! …I’ll admit it, I haven’t seen Moana the movie yet, but just the fact that I can say I’m related to another Disney princess makes me very excited!

While I am still a little skeptical about how accurate the whole AncestryDNA thing is, I found the experience to be quite fun and a small step toward fulfilling my curiosity about where I am actually from. Plus, I now have an excuse to visit the beautiful islands of Polynesia one day!!

Until next time,
Heather Mei

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

