UNL Ballroom Dance Company’s Spring Showcase 2017.

If you didn’t know, I love to dance. It has been a hobby of mine since I was 4 years old. Going to ballet and tap lessons every Wednesday was my favorite part of the week growing up! Though once middle school hit, I stopped attending dance lessons and the regularity of dance ceased. Over the past two years however, my love for dance has been revived, mainly thanks to ballroom dance. During my last year of college (2015-2016), I auditioned to be on the UNL Ballroom Dance Company’s (UNLBDC) team. I ended up getting chosen and began learning how to ballroom dance. The company is split up into three teams based on experience: Newcomer, Bronze, and Silver. The first year I danced, I was placed on the Newcomer team. Our instructor, Kim, is phenomenally talented and taught us all many different styles of ballroom dance, including waltz, tango, foxtrot, cha-cha, and rumba just to name a few!

At the end of each semester, UNLBDC dances at a showcase, performing several dances with their group, as well as a few solos that individuals choreographed on their own. The showcase is by far the most exciting part of the year! Finding UNLBDC was one of the best discoveries of my college experience, and I was really bummed when I realized that I found them during my last year of college! However, Kim has let me dance with the company for another year despite the fact that I am not a college student!

Last Saturday was UNLBDC’s Spring Showcase and I danced as a Bronze team member. The Bronze group performed a Viennese Waltz, Tango, Lindy Hop, and Rumba. Along with the four Bronze dances, the whole company also danced a West Coast Swing for the show opener, and a combination of Swing and Bolero for the closing dance. Lastly, I also danced in two solos, a West Coast Swing and a Jive, for the Spring Showcase that were self-choreographed! Below are photos of the showcase, as well as links to videos of my two solos!

Show Opener: West Coast Swing 

 

Alex and I’s Solo: West Coast Swing

 

Bronze Group: Viennese Waltz

 

Bronze Group: Tango

 

Raymond and I’s Solo: Jive 

 

Bronze Group: Lindy Hop

 

Bronze Group: Rumba 

 

Finale: West Coast Swing and Bolero 

 

Group Photos!

Until Next Time,
Heather Mei

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

