Get To Know Me.

I thought it would be fun to answer some get to know you questions pulled from www.humorthatworks.com and thoughtcatalog.com. As the URLs suggest, these questions range from light to deep, simple to complex, and fun to serious. I hope you enjoy getting to know me, and I encourage you to answer these questions yourself. You might be surprised by some of the answers you come up with, I know I was.

  1. What was your favorite food when you were a child?
    • Tacos
  2. What kind of parent do you think you will be?
    • I think I’m going to be that mom that is unabashedly screaming a little too loudly in the audience, taking one too many photos of every single activity and accomplishment, and always outwardly showing my love, enthusiasm, and encouragement in everything my children do.
  3. What did your past relationship teach you?
    • To not be as forgiving, to ask more questions, and to not fall so quickly
  4. What’s the #1 most played song on your iPod?
    • Closer to Love by Matt Kearney
  5. What is one of your favorite quotes?
    • “And when you want something, all the universe will conspire in helping you to achieve it” by Paulo Coelho.
  6. What chore do you absolutely hate doing?
    • I hate cleaning the toilet and shower…
  7. What is your favorite form of exercise?
    • Dancing
  8. What is your favorite time of day/day of the week/month of the year?
    • Late nights on Saturdays, in September
  9. What’s your least favorite mode of transportation?
    • Driving myself
  10. What sound do you love?
    • Laughter
  11. If you could paint a picture of any scenery you’ve seen before, what would you paint?
    • My backyard from my childhood
  12. If you had to change your first name, what would you change it to?
    • Katherine, because that’s what my mom originally wanted to name me, but my dad wanted Heather, and obviously, he won. And then when my younger sister came along, and my mom got her Katherine.
  13. If you were reincarnated as an animal/drink/ice cream flavor, what would it be?
    • Butterfly, water, chocolate chip cookie dough
  14. If you could be any animated character, who would you choose?
    • Mulan. Duh.
  15. What’s on your bucket list this year?
    • Visit my hometown in Dianbai District in Guangduong Province
    • Learn Chinese
    • Learn to hip hop dance
    • Call my mom and sisters more often
  16. What do you want to be when you grow up?
    • Well, the very first thing I wanted to be was a ballerina. Then a teacher, then a biologist, then an HR manager, and now I am currently none of the above.
  17. When you have 30 minutes of free-time, how do you pass the time?
    • I usually make a full schedule to my days, but if there is free time, I usually take a quick nap or text my friends!
  18. Have you ever had something happen to you that you thought was bad but it turned out to be for the best?
    • Any time I have been heart broken by a guy. In that moment, it’s one of the worst types of pain I could ever feel. And I’m like omg he was the one. However, time heals a lot, and has never failed to show me that in the end, we actually weren’t meant to be.
  19. What’s the hardest thing you’ve ever done?
    • The hardest thing I have ever done was move out of both my parents’ homes when I was 18. I became completely financially independent, worked 80 hours a week, and lived at several friends’ places before saving enough money to get my own apartment. All the while, I was taking 18 credit hours in college, in order to graduate in 3 years.
  20. What did you do growing up that got you into trouble?
    • I was not a good listener… and talked back a lot. Not a good idea.
  21. When was the last time you had an amazing meal?
    • The last time I had an amazing meal was during Christmas, while visiting my mom and two sisters. My mom has this special recipe for making black eyed pea soup. Literally, the best.
  22. What is your first memory of being really excited?
    • When I was 4 years old and got my first two dogs, Skip and Playful. I remember playing with them in my backyard till the sun set.
  23. When was the last time you were nervous?
    • The last time I was nervous was Thursday morning, seeing my dad to get my new license plates. Refer to my blog post “An Encounter with My Father” to learn more.
  24. Does your family have any nicknames for you?
    • My mom would call me Heather Mei (pronounced may) when she was super mad. If you heard the usage of your first and middle name together in my house that meant you were in deep, deep trouble. What’s funny about this, is even though Heather Mei meant something negative when I was young, it’s now the name of my blog! On a lighter note, I was also called Maize a lot growing up and that was said with a happier tone.
  25. At what age did you become an adult?
    • I still don’t see myself as an adult. So no answer yet.
  26. The best part of waking up is?
    • Knowing that it’s a new day and that many things will be discovered and accomplished if I live my day proactively.
  27. What’s your philosophy in life?
    • Stay busy. Stay focused. Stay happy. I always am looking for the next thing I can accomplish or add to my list of things to do.
  28. What’s the one thing you would like to change about yourself?
    • I am the most impatient person I have ever met in my whole entire life, so I would want to be more patient.
  29. Are you religious or spiritual?
    • I would say I am slightly spiritual? Still figuring that one out.
  30. Do you consider yourself an introvert or an extrovert?
    • EXTROVERT
  31. Which parent are you closer to and why?
    • I am closer to my mom, because she shows more interest in my life at the moment. But, as a kid I was closer with my dad because we did nearly everything together.
  32. What makes you laugh the most?
    • I always find myself in a fit of laughter when I am with a good friend and we begin recounting old embarrassing memories together.
  33. What makes you feel accomplished?
    • Any time I go above and beyond my goal.
  34. What’s your favorite book/movie of all time and why did it speak to you so much?
    • My favorite book/movie is The Notebook, because I’m a sucker for love stories.
  35. What is a relationship deal breaker for you?
    • If he’s not a good communicator.
  36. When do you think a person is ready for marriage?
    • I think a person is ready for marriage when they fully know themselves, have stability in their own lives, and know where they want to go in the future.
  37. Do you usually stay friends with your exes?
    • I actually do. I am usually the one that pushes for friendship after breaking up, and while difficult at first, friendship after a relationship has worked out well for both sides.
  38. If you are in a bad mood, do you prefer to be left alone or have someone to cheer you up?
    • I prefer to have someone talk through my frustrations with me.
  39. What’s an ideal weekend for you?
    • Waking up around 10 A.M., eating a hot breakfast, going to the gym, spending time with friends, and dancing the night away.
  40. What do you think of best friends of the opposite sex?
    • I would actually say that I have more good friends who are male than female, so I am all for it! I find that boys are less dramatic, and just all around intriguing since their minds think and work differently than females.
  41. Do you judge a book by its cover?
    • Obviously, I would like to think that I do not. But at times, I have found myself doing so. However, more times than not, after I get to know anyone, my first impression changes. So I try not to!
  42. Are you confrontational?
    • Depends on the situation. If it’s over something I believe to be trivial, I can easily let it go. If it’s something I am passionate about, I have no fears about bringing my own opinions to the table.
  43. How do you define family?
    • Family is not necessarily defined by blood, but can be anyone or anything that makes you feel respected, appreciated, loved, and cared for. Not only do they make you feel this way, but you reciprocate those feelings back.
  44. Did you ever write a journal?
    • I first started journaling in 10th grade. I stopped during college for a little while, and then picked it back up in the summer of 2016. And now, I have started a blog, which is another form of journaling.
  45. Do you believe in second chances?
    • Always, yes.
  46. What’s the one thing that people always misunderstand about you?
    • I think people assume that I am this loud, carefree, put together, happy person, which I definitely am. But there are multiple sides to me that are not always the later.
  47. What is the craziest thing you’ve ever done and would you do it again?
    • I fell in love with a guy from Malaysia when I was in college, and after he moved back to Malaysia, I decided to buy a plane ticket to Kuala Lumpar and spend a month with him in the summer. We had only been dating for 3 months when I made that spontaneous decision. While that relationship ultimately didn’t work out, I would do it a thousand times over.
  48. If a genie granted you 3 wishes right now, what would you wish for?
    • 1. Winning the lottery 2. Meeting my birth parents 3. That I would be fluent in Chinese
  49. What’s your biggest regret in life?
    • My biggest regret is not realizing my potential earlier on. I think I inhibited myself from getting out of my comfort zone and didn’t do so until senior year of high school, which wasted a lot of time to experience new things.
  50. What do you think about when you’re by yourself?
    • I think of my future, and how I don’t have every detail figured out, or I recount old conversations and what I would have said differently.

Until next time,
Heather Mei

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

